The downside to the holidays

No, I’m not talking about weight gain (although, sadly, I have not been immune there – BUT I have made it to the gym 4/7 days this past week).  The real downside is Oscar’s reaction to my returning to the office.  I hadn’t really thought about how it would impact him when I returned to work after spending 5 1/2 days with him.  He’s been so clingy; yelling “no, no, no” (or “nay, nay, nay” – please don’t let him be a politician) when I leave a room, refusing to make the morning pass from my arms to the nanny’s. I’ve been going home early so we can spend some time together before bed, but it’s not enough.  He still wails when he’s going to sleep, although tonight was a little better than last night.

I’m a little conflicted about the next few days.  I’m closing a deal in the morning, so after that I have nothing to do. I’m betting the office will be a ghost town on Friday, so I’m thinking of taking Wednesday – Sunday off again.  Of course, this will just put us back into the same exact situation we’re in right now, transitioning back to work.  There is a tiny part of me that thinks I should still go into the office to keep us on schedule.  I’m going to guess, though, that it’s more important for us to spend another five days together than it is for us to stay on the work schedule.  How much does it suck to wonder whether it’s better to have your son spend time away from you so it isn’t so hard when you inevitably have to be separated?

Leave a comment

2011 Resos

I will NOT:
- Sneak a peek at a waiting child list
- Adopt another child
- Give up Diet Coke
- Reschedule my children’s readoption because of work
- Cancel our trip to Disneyland because of work
- Work all night
- Eat all of the chocolate chip cookie dough I’ve prepared for Oscar and Etta
- Be anyone’s bitch

Etta’s Hats